Monthly Act of Charity

Starting the month of July I will commit to an act of charity every month. That is the decision I have made. And I will stick to it. God has given us all so much. We are overflowing with things to be thankful for. Our blessings are bountiful. Open your eyes. Look around you. You have so much to be grateful for if you just look long enough to see it. There are always flowers for those who want to see them. Count your blessings. Always keep an attitude of gratitude. Be thankful & grateful for all that you have now. Your blessings are innumerable. If you still find this hard to do, get a notebook & survey your life over the next few days. Jot down all the blessings you come across (there are far too many). Convinced now?

As a youngish girl I remember seeing a movie (or maybe it was a documentary?) on some children in an orphanage & it was then that I put in mind I really wanted to open an orphanage. I even went home, sat down & drew out all the plans I had in mind for this orphanage of mine. Now that I’m older, I’m not sure whether that dream will or will not come true (I’m still just as determined as ever) but I know one thing for sure, I can do so much in so many other ways to help the less fortunate.

When I look around me & become aware of how much God has given me, I think well what am I doing in return? What am I giving back to the world? Yes, I pray to thank God for everything, but there’s a lot more I could be doing. There’s a lot more we could all be doing.

So what’s my decision? Every month I will do something for charity. And I hope you will do the same. Charity, preached by every religion of the world, is a way of bringing justice to society. Practice it. Every month after meeting your own needs, look to help others in need of your help. There are far too many people out there who are in dire need of what you have to give. You will feel incredibly good about it. Help people in need. Just remember when you give to charity you are never reducing your wealth. Quite the opposite actually. Whatever good you do, you will be rewarded. No act of kindness is ever forgotten & no act of kindness ever goes unrewarded. Keep that in mind. I can’t think of anything more rewarding than helping someone. It’s so beautiful.

I have already started planning my act of charity for July (seen as it will be the first month I want to do something massive). If you’ve been keeping track of my posts you’ll see I’m organizing a cupcake bake sale to raise money for charity. I’m clear on the cupcakes & I’m almost done with the posters, now I just need to decide on the venue & the day. Super excited!

Start from today & commit yourself to an act of charity every month.

World hunger reaches the 1 billion people mark

Published in: on June 19, 2009 at 2:40 am  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://aestheticthoughts.wordpress.com/2009/06/19/monthly-act-of-charity/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. oh i love it! 🙂


Leave a Reply

